POSTPONED: BASF Distinguished Lecture Series: Enrique Iglesia

Warning Icon This event is in the past.

Date: March 31, 2020
Time: 2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Location: Danto Engineering Development Center | Map
5050 Anthony Wayne
Detroit, MI 48202
Category: Seminar

RSVP is closed.

This event has been postponed to a later date and time to be announced.

Iglesia is an expert in heterogeneous catalysis and chemical reaction engineering. He joined the University of California at Berkeley as a professor of chemical engineering after 12 years of research and management experience at the Exxon Corporate Research Laboratories. He currently serves as the Theodore Vermeulen Chair in Chemical Engineering at UC Berkeley and a faculty senior scientist in the E.O. Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.  He is a past editor-in-chief of the Journal of Catalysis (1997-2010) and president of the North American Catalysis Society (2009-17), and is presently the vice president and president-elect of the International Association of Catalysis Societies. Iglesia is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Inventors, and a Fellow of the American Chemical Society and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.


About the BASF Distinguished Lecture Series

The Wayne State University Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science is welcoming five members of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering during the 2019-20 academic year to stimulate idea-focused conversations about emerging growth areas such as such as membrane technology, chemical process and control, polymers and rheology, performance materials and connected plants, and catalysis. This partnership between Wayne State and BASF — the largest chemical producer in the world, with a footprint in more than 80 countries — is intended to create another pathway to connect students with professional leaders and to enhance interaction among industry experts.


Jeff Potoff




Academic staff, Alumni, Community, Current students, Faculty, Staff