POSTPONED: Roland T. Lakey Lecture and Award Presentation

Warning Icon This event is in the past.

Date: March 30, 2020
Time: 5:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Location: Pharmacy & Health Sciences, Eugene Applebaum College of Auditorium | Map
259 Mack
Detroit, MI 48201
Category: Lecture

This event has been postponed as part of Wayne State University's effort to adhere to CDC recommendations for social distancing. The new date has yet to be determined. 


The 2020 Roland T. Lakey Award recipient and lecturer is Vicki Ellingrod, PharmD, BCPP, FCCP. She is a professor and associate dean for research and graduate education at the University of Michigan.

Each year the Alpha Chi chapter confers the Roland T. Lakey Award – established in memory of WSU Applebaum’s first dean – on an individual who has made a significant impact on the profession of pharmacy through research or other contributions in pharmacy practice or the pharmaceutical sciences. 

Ellingrod's work focuses on the pharmacogenomics of mental health treatments, and her research has primarily been funded by the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), FDA, and industry sources. She currently has more than $2 million in grant funding from the NIH. 

Ellingrod is a founding member of the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists and a full member of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP). She also serves as scientific editor for Pharmacotherapy and is an editor on the DiPiro text book Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach.  She was the fellowship mentor for WSU Applebaum Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice Kyle Burghardt.

She earned her BS and PharmD from the University of Minnesota and completed a postdoctoral fellowship in psychopharmacology/pharmacogenetics at the University of Iowa. She then joined their faculty and completed a K08 training grant funded by NIMH. In 2006, she joined the University of Michigan.

Ellingrod's lecture, “Life Lessons from an Accidental Academic,” will be rescheduled at a later time.


Department of Pharmacy Practice




Alumni, Current students, Faculty