The Mechanism and Regulation of Microtubule Motors

Warning Icon This event is in the past.

Date: March 24, 2022
Time: 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Location: Zoom
Category: Seminar

The Mechanism and Regulation of Microtubule Motors

Speaker: Ahmet Yildiz


Department of Physics, and Department of Molecular & Cell Biology

The University of California Berkeley

Abstract: Kinesin and dynein motors hydrolyze the energy of ATP hydrolysis to walk on microtubule filaments and carry a wide variety of cargos to many destinations inside cells. To understand the mechanism of their action, we developed methods to track the movement of a single motor at nanometer resolution in real-time.  Using these methods, we presented a robust mechanistic model of how dynein takes steps, moves towards the minus-end of microtubules, and generates force. I will also discuss how kinesin and dynein are recruited to mitochondria and their motility is regulated by accessory proteins to control bidirectional transport.

Biography: Ahmet Yildiz received his Ph.D. in biophysics at the University of Illinois at urbana champaign (UIUC), where he developed a single fluorescent particle tracking method with one-nanometer accuracy with Prof. Paul Selvin and showed how molecular motors of cytoskeleton walk along linear tracks inside cells. He completed his postdoctoral work with Prof. Ron Vale at the University of California San Francisco as a Jane Coffin Childs, and Burroughs Welcome Fellow. His work in single molecule fluorescence has been awarded Gregory Weber International Prize in Biological Fluorescence in 2005 and the Young Scientist Award by Science Magazine in 2006. In 2008, he joined Physics and MCB departments at UC Berkeley. His research group develops biophysical approaches to study fundamental biological processes, such as intracellular cargo transport, and the replication of telomeres at a single molecule level. His research has been recognized with the NSF CAREER Award, Presidential Early Career Award, Sloan Fellowship, EMF Young Investigator Award, ASCB Emerging Leader Prize, Michael and Kate Barany Award by BPS, and the Vilcek Prize.



Zoom Link:

Meeting ID: 926 7519 3143
Passcode: 986215



Takeshi Sakaomto


March 2022